Games/Bavaria – First Touch Point for the Bavarian Games Industry

Its goal is to strengthen the games industry in Bavaria. Games/Bavaria brings together all kinds of game-related companies: not only game developers but also publishers, service providers and the makers of the various platforms and frameworks that keep everything running.

Games/Bavaria Logo

What is Games/Bavaria?

With a community of such depth and breadth, it’s easy to find the right partner for your project. Our various community events, projects and shared platforms are here to ensure that. These efforts don’t just improve the efficiency of our individual companies, they also encourage mutual support, facilitate the exchange of ideas, inspiration and talent, and ensure better products and higher-quality work.

Games/Bavaria is even active beyond the Bavarian borders, working to increase the visibility of our local industry in the whole wide world. How? With shared websites, events and last but not least diverse group appearances at important industry events like gamescom in Cologne or Game Connection in Paris.

History of Games/Bavaria

Games/Bavaria was created at the end of 2012 through a public-private partnership. The organization is built on the relationships that representatives of the Bavarian games industry had already been cultivating on their own. A coalition of voluntary supporters, heavy hitters from the industry in Bavaria and the state of Bavaria itself has collaborated for some time to strengthen and develop the region. And, since 2009, FilmFernsehFonds Bayern (the Bavarian agency supporting film, TV and games) has contributed financial support to concept development, prototyping and production.

Games/Bavaria’s first public appearance was a group trip to Game Connection organized by Johannes Roth of Mimimi Productions, in which 16 companies travelled to Paris with the financial support of Bayern International.

Games/Bavaria got its next big push in January 2013 when the newly-opened digital startup incubator, WERK1 München, hired a Project Manager Games. Thanks to financial support from the Bavarian State Chancellery (Now the Bavarian ministry of economics). His mission: deepen and extend ties within the local, national and international games industries.

Supporting Institutions

New faces and new (old) formats – Games/Bavaria starts into a diversified year final

Lena Fischer has replaced Robin Kocaurek and as if that weren’t enough change, Robin number 2 will face new challenges from 2020. But for this, the tried and tested comes back: After a year’s break, the X-Mas pitching will take place again this year as a warm-up to the Games/Bavaria Christmas party! NEW FACES AT Read More

The Games/Bavaria Road Trip from WERK1 to the “Ludicious” in Zurich 2019

The games scene is booming – almost every second German today plays regularly on consoles, smartphones and the like – according to recent studies by the games industry. Gaming has long ceased to be a special interest hobby where the public turns up their noses. More and more, the creation of digital games is being Read More

Robin Hartmann - WERK1 - Portrait

Contact Person

Robin Hartman
Project Lead Games Hub
robin@werk1.com

Ansprechpartner für die Games-Branche in Bayern

Ziel ist es, die Games-Branche in Bayern zu stärken. Games/Bavaria bringt alle Arten von Unternehmen zusammen, die mit Spielen zu tun haben: Nicht nur Spieleentwickler, sondern auch Publisher, Dienstleister und die Macher der verschiedenen Plattformen und Frameworks.

Games/Bavaria Logo

Was ist Games/Bavaria?

Mit einer solchen leidenschaftlichen und abwechslungsreichen Community ist es einfach, den richtigen Partner für Ihr Projekt zu finden. Dafür sorgen unsere verschiedenen Community-Events, Projekte und gemeinsamen Plattformen. Diese Bemühungen verbessern nicht nur die Effizienz der einzelnen Unternehmen, sondern fördern auch die gegenseitige Unterstützung, erleichtern den Austausch von Ideen, Inspiration und Talenten, sorgen für bessere Produkte und qualitativ hochwertigere Arbeit.

Games/Bavaria ist auch über die bayerischen Grenzen hinaus aktiv und setzt sich dafür ein, die Sichtbarkeit unserer heimischen Industrie in der ganzen Welt zu erhöhen. Wie? Mit gemeinsamen Websites, Events und nicht zuletzt diversen Gruppenauftritten auf wichtigen Branchenevents wie der gamescom in Köln oder der Game Connection in Paris.

Die Geschichte von Games/Bavaria

Games/Bavaria wurde Ende 2012 im Rahmen einer Public-Private-Partnership gegründet. Die Organisation baut auf den Beziehungen auf, die die Vertreter der bayerischen Spieleindustrie bereits in Eigenregie gepflegt haben. Eine Koalition aus ehrenamtlichen Helfern, Schwergewichten aus der bayerischen Wirtschaft und dem Freistaat Bayern arbeitet seit geraumer Zeit zusammen, um die Region zu stärken und weiterzuentwickeln. Und seit 2009 unterstützt der FilmFernsehFonds Bayern die Konzeptentwicklung, das Prototyping und die Produktion finanziell.

Der erste öffentliche Auftritt von Games/Bavaria war eine Gruppenreise zu Game Connection, organisiert von Johannes Roth von Mimimi Productions, bei der 16 Unternehmen mit finanzieller Unterstützung von Bayern International nach Paris reisten.
Games/Bavaria erhielt seinen nächsten großen Schub im Januar 2013, als der neu eröffnete digitale Startup-Inkubator WERK1 München einen Projektmanager Games engagierte. Dank der finanziellen Unterstützung der Bayerischen Staatskanzlei (jetzt Bayerisches Wirtschaftsministerium). Die Mission: Vertiefung und Ausbau der Beziehungen innerhalb der lokalen, nationalen und internationalen Spieleindustrie.

Unterstützende Institutionen

Neue Gesichter und neue (alte) Formate – Games/Bavaria startet in ein abwechslungsreiches Jahresfinale

Lena Fischer hat die Nachfolge von Robin Kocaurek angetreten und als ob das nicht schon Veränderung genug wäre, stellt sich auch Robin Nummer 2 ab 2020 neuen Herausforderungen. Doch dafür kommt auch altbewährtes zurück: So findet dieses Jahr nach einem Jahr Pause das X-Mas-Pitching als Warm-Up zur Games/Bavaria-Weihnachtsfeier wieder statt! Neue Gesichter bei Games/Bavaria Mittlerweile Weiterlesen

Der Games/Bavaria Road Trip vom WERK1 zur “Ludicious” in Zürich 2019

Die Games-Szene boomt – fast jeder zweite Deutsche spielt heute regelmäßig an Konsole, Smartphone und Co. – das ergaben aktuelle Studien der Spieleindustrie. Gaming zählt längst nicht mehr zu den Special-Interest-Hobbies, bei dem die Öffentlichkeit die Nase rümpft. Mehr und mehr wird die Kreation von digitalen Spielen als Kunst- und Kulturgut wahrgenommen, ebenso wie als Weiterlesen

Robin Hartmann - WERK1 - Portrait

Ansprechpartner

Robin Hartman
Projektleiter Games Hub 
robin@werk1.com